Cage

a4522a6a53215d5016c64a3c46a37e58_m

It isn’t all too bad,

I may still feel between your bars.

There’s that freedom,

so close, yet so far.

 

I slip my arm often through,

to a perspective only my arm will ever see.

My perspective’s striped,

all it’ll ever be.

 

My fingers have touched freedom,

my mind has only known steel.

My bones obey my barriers,

and my heart can’t even feel.

 

IĀ breathe theĀ cold-cuts of oxygen,

that roll in through these gates.

Though slices of air are better than none,

I tend to somehow suffocate.

 

There is so much more out there than in here,

though my horizon arrives quite soon.

I have one wish that I already know is bullshit,

I know I’ll never see the moon.

 

1 Thought.

  1. “I slip my arm often through, to a perspective only my arm will ever see.” This line had me stop and pause for a second as it fits in so well and was worded just perfectly enough to to add that extra effect when reading. However as a comment of improvement, I would like to suggest maybe adding a couple more stanzas or thoughts into this piece to make it feel more complete. As from a personal standpoint , I enjoyed the ideas and message behind this poem, but if they were to be expanded just a bit, I feel like it would take this poem up another notch.
    Thanks Bains.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar